Swiss Wood Solutions was founded in 2016 as a spin-off from ETH Zurich and Empa.

Our team fuses the vast knowledge of scientists with diverse academic backgrounds. All of our team members have worked at ETH and/or Empa prior to their engagement at Swiss Wood Solutions. ETH Zurich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology) is a globally leading science university and constantly ranks among the top universities worldwide. Empa (Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology) is an interdisciplinary Swiss research institute for applied materials science with various campuses across Switzerland. We are in the advantageous position to benefit from infrastructural, technical and know-how support from these two Swiss institutions. Regardless, Swiss Wood Solutions acts as an independent company and holds its own intellectual property rights.

  • Eth spinoff
  • Empa spinoff

Get in touch >

Our team

Dr. Oliver Kläusler

Dr. Oliver Kläusler

CEO

has studied wood science and technology at the University of Hamburg and wrote his thesis at ETH Zurich. Subsequently, he worked as an R&D engineer and project manager in the wood industry in Switzerland, the Czech Republic and the United States. He is the main inventor and developer of the production technologies for two Beaufort products for Audi cars. Oliver Kläusler then received his PhD in the field of high-performance bonded wooden joints for wood constructions from ETH Zurich. Following his promotion, he ran a research group at Empa Dübendorf and ETH Zurich. Oliver Kläusler is Co-founder of Swiss Wood Solutions and its first CEO.

klaeusler@swisswoodsolutions.ch
Tel. +41 79 819 72 77

Dr. Munish Chanana

Dr. Munish Chanana

Deputy CEO and Head of R&D

studied chemistry at the University of Münster, Germany, and later received his PhD from the Max Planck Institute in Potsdam, Germany. He acquired profound research experience in hierarchical biological materials, chemical synthesis and physical chemistry of interfaces. Prior to his engagement at Swiss Wood Solutions, Munish Chanana led the group of Hierarchical Nano-Bio Materials at the Institute for Building Materials at ETH Zurich. Munish Chanana is Co-founder of Swiss Wood Solutions and, as Head of R&D, develops new physicochemical modification approaches of wood.

chanana@swisswoodsolutions.ch

Tel. +41 76 688 70 02 (CH)
Tel. +49 176 63 00 44 09 (D)

Dr. Walter Sonderegger

Dr. Walter Sonderegger

Quality management

studied forest science at ETH Zurich and earned his doctorate there. Subsequently, he worked at the Institute for Building Materials at ETH as a forest engineer for several decades. Walter Sonderegger has acquired profound knowledge in wood mechanics, wood physics and hydrothermal compression methods. Furthermore, he has released numerous research articles in scientific journals and reference books on wood.

sonderegger@swisswoodsolutions.ch

Gaspard Clerc

Gaspard Clerc

CTO

spent multiple years at the violin making school in Brienz, Switzerland, where he certainly acquired practical experience, but wanted to have a greater theoretical understanding of wood. He received his Master's degree as a wood engineer at the Bern University of Applied Sciences in Switzerland. In the meantime, he co-founded SWS to combine his interest in lutherie and research. Currently, in addition to his work at SWS, he is completing his doctorate at the Technical University of Munich.

clerc@swisswoodsolutions.ch

Dr. Etienne Cabane

Dr. Etienne Cabane

R&D Manager

is a polymer chemist and chemical engineer. After completing a MSc in Materials Science at the University of New Hampshire (USA) and a PhD in Physical Chemistry at the University of Basel in Switzerland, Etienne Cabane discovered wood at the Institute for Building Materials at ETH Zürich, where he led the research activities on the design of functional wood-based materials. As a senior research scientist at SWS, Etienne Cabane keeps an eye on the latest innovations in wood materials and explores novel research directions.

cabane@swisswoodsolutions.ch

Pascal Wyss

Pascal Wyss

R&D Engineer

studies Chemistry and Business Studies at the University of Zurich. As part of his Master's thesis, he works on the development of wooden veneers and investigates their marketability.

wyss@swisswoodsolutions.ch

Nico Schubiger

Nico Schubiger

Master Student Chemistry and Business

studies Chemistry and Business Studies at the University of Zurich. As part of his Master's thesis, he performs a Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) of the wooden products of SWS.

schubiger@swisswoodsolutions.ch

Swiss Wood Solutions

arrow down

SWS Team November 2019

Swiss Wood Solutions wurde 2016 als Spin-off der ETH Zürich und Empa in Dübendorf gegründet.

Unser Team vereint Holzexperten aus der Industrie, Forschung und Entwicklung. Alle unsere Teammitglieder haben vor ihrer Tätigkeit bei Swiss Wood Solutions an der ETH und/oder Empa Forschungserfahrung gesammelt. Die Eidgenössisch Technische Hochschule (ETH) Zürich ist eine global führende Institution in technischen und naturwissenschaftlichen Forschungsrichtungen. Die Eidgenössische Materialsprüfungs- und Forschungsanstalt (Empa) ist eine interdisziplinäre Forschungsinstitution für anwendungsorientierte Materialwissenschaften mit mehreren Standorten in der Schweiz. Das Spin-off profitiert von infrastruktureller und technischer Unterstützung der beiden Institutionen. Nichtsdestotrotz ist Swiss Wood Solutions ein eigenständiges, unabhängiges Unternehmen und hält als solches eigene Rechte an geistigem Eigentum.

  • logo eth spinoff
  • logo empa spinoff

Kontaktieren Sie uns >

Unser Team

  • Oliver Klaeusler

    Dr. Oliver Kläusler

    Geschäftsführer

    studierte Holzwirtschaft und Technologie an der Universität Hamburg und verfasste seine Doktorarbeit an der ETH Zürich. Anschliessend arbeitete er als Forschungsingenieur und Projektmanager in der Holzindustrie in der Schweiz, Tschechien und den USA. Er ist der Erfinder und Entwickler der Produktionstechnologie von zwei Beaufort Produkten für Audi Fahrzeuge. Später war er Leiter einer Forschungsgruppe an der Empa Dübendorf und ETH Zürich. Oliver Kläusler ist Mitgründer und erster CEO von Swiss Wood Solutions.

    klaeusler@swisswoodsolutions.ch
    Tel. +41 79 819 72 77

  • Munish Chanana

    Dr. Munish Chanana

    Forschungsleiter und stellvertretender Geschäftsführer

    studierte Chemie an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität in Münster und verfasste danach seine Doktorarbeit am Max-Planck-Institut in Potsdam. Im Anschluss erlangte er langjährige Forschungserfahrung in nanobiologischen Wissenschaften. Vor seiner Anstellung bei Swiss Wood Solutions leitete Munish Chanana die Forschungsgruppe für hierarchische nanobiologische Materialien an der ETH Zürich. Munish Chanana ist Co-CEO und Forschungsleiter von Swiss Wood Solutions. Zusätzlich ist er Reviewer bei mehreren Wissenschaftsjournalen.

    chanana@swisswoodsolutions.ch
    Tel. +41 76 688 70 02 (CH)
    Tel. +49 176 63 00 44 09 (D)

  • Walter Sonderegger

    Dr. Walter Sonderegger

    Leiter Qualitätsmanagement

    studierte Holzwissenschaften an der ETH Zürich und promovierte dort. Danach arbeitete er mehrere Jahrzehnte als Holzingenieur am Institut für Baustoffe an der ETH. Er verfügt über tiefe Fachkenntnisse in Holzmechanik, Holzphysik und hydrothermalen Verdichtungsmethoden. Walter Sonderegger ist Autor einer Vielzahl von Forschungsartikeln in Fachzeitschriften und Nachschlagewerken zum Thema Holz und Holzphysik.

    sonderegger@swisswoodsolutions.ch

  • Philipp Hass

    Dr. Philipp Hass

    CTO und Produktionsleiter

    studierte Verfahrenstechnik mit Fokus auf Holz- und Fasermaterialien an der Technischen Universität Dresden. Zuvor absolvierte er eine handwerkliche Schreiner-Ausbildung und verfügt somit über eine Kombination aus praktischen und theoretischen Kenntnissen der Holzverarbeitung. Zuletzt arbeitete er als Postdoktorand an der Empa Dübendorf und ETH Zürich. Bei Swiss Wood Solutions ist Philipp Hass verantwortlich für die Technologieentwicklung und Produktion.

    phass@swisswoodsolutions.ch

  • Luca Schelbli

    Luca Schelbli

    Marketing & Sales

    studierte Wirtschaftschemie an der Universität Zürich und Louisiana State University in den USA. Als R&D-Ingenieur arbeitet er an der Entwicklung von physikochemischen Holzmodifikationen für verschiedene Anwendungsgebiete. Ferner unterstützt Luca Schelbli die Kommerzialisierung der im Labor entwickelten Verfahren, die Betreuung der Verkaufskanäle und die Marketingaktivitäten.

    schelbli@swisswoodsolutions.ch
    Tel. +41 44 633 62 12 (office)
    Tel. +41 79 837 17 94 (mobile)